Gaining Weight with IBD

person carrying black barbell
Photo by Victor Freitas on Pexels.com

For me, an IBD diagnosis meant having to seriously look at my diet. Although my consultant never actually talked about nutrition whilst discussing how to treat my IBD, I felt that my diet contributed big time to the initial development of my condition and I knew going forward I was going to have to seriously look at my diet if I ever wanted to look the way I wanted.

My goal was to healthily gain weight, I’m a tall guy, standing 6ft 5ins and i’ve been skinny all my life, in December 2017 I weighed 11st 12lbs. I wanted to get to a point where I no longer looked skinny and this for me equated to 14st or 200lbs.

To do this I had to increase my calorie intake and aim for a 10% surplus every day which proved a real change with IBD interactions with food. As I wanted to stay in shape, I started a strength training program (linked at the bottom) and gradually saw my weight increase.

Training 

For anyone looking to put on size I would suggest heavy compound movements found in 5×5 Strength training programs. I personally went with Starting Strength NLP Program which is a great program to quickly increase strength whilst building size. Naturally, whole body compound movements require an investment of calories and protein to ensure continued muscle growth and development.

Diet

When I first looked at my diet, I found that in the first instance I simply wasn’t eating enough calories. I used an TDEE Calculator to work out that my body needs a minimum of 3,000 calories a day to cover energy usage, an average strength session would require an extra 300-400 calories and then i’d burn enough 200-300 walking or cycling to work. This meant a new total of between 3,400 and 4,000 calories between rest and workout days!

But by maintaining a balanced diet including things like Tuna, Salmon, Beef and selected fruit and vegetables into my diet, I was ability to not only put on weight but also contribute to helping to heal my gut, with anti-inflammatory foods and high protein. If you do not have any issues with Lactose I would also suggest considering drinking an increased about of milk easy extra calories and protein.

I personally found eating a lot quite hard going, but I knew I had to treat it like a form of training as my body would get used to eating more and grow and build. As it stands i’ve managed to add nearly 14lbs in healthy weight and i’m very much stronger and happier as a result.

Resources:

TDEE Calculator

Starting Strength NL Program

 

Leave a comment